About the Royal Philatelic Society London

The Royal Philatelic Society London (RPSL), the oldest philatelic society in the world, was established in 1869 as The Philatelic Society, London. In 1896 HRH The Duke of York, son of King Edward VII, became President of the Society, an office he continued to hold until his accession to the throne as HM King George V in 1910. Permission to use the prefix ‘Royal’ was granted by His Majesty King Edward VII in 1906. Following his accession King George V acted as its Patron, and in 1924 granted the Society permission to use the Royal Arms on its stationery and publications.

The Royal Philatelic Society London’s headquarters building at 15 Abchurch Lane, London EC4N 7BW

The Royal philatelic tradition has been maintained, and for 70 years the Society was honoured by the Patronage of Her Majesty The Queen. Her Majesty graciously allowed a selection from The Royal Philatelic Collection to be displayed at the Society’s opening meeting each season.

HM Queen Elizabeth II official visit to the Royal Philatelic Society London on 26 November 2019.

Visit the Royal Philatelic Society London’s website here.

Spear Museum of Philatelic History at the RPSL

Nicola Davies (right), Clash of Empires Exhibition Committee Member & Head of Collections guides HM Queen Elizabeth II around the Spear Museum of Philatelic History at the RPSL on 26 November 2019.

The Spear Museum of Philatelic History is an Accredited Museum in the heart of the City of London.


Over the decades, the RPSL has acquired a large collection of artefacts and records that are currently housed in its Museum.  The collections have high historic and monetary value and are a valuable resource for research on many aspects of philatelic development and exhibition.  In keeping with its standing as a learned society with a worldwide reputation for excellence, the RPSL invests considerable resources on improving the conservation and preservation of the Museum collection.

Visit the museum’s website here.